…and we’re back. With presents.

January 2, 2012 § 1 Comment

I just got back from two glorious weeks away with family and friends for the holidays, hence my silence on the blog front. My house is currently a minefield of partially-unpacked luggage and despite the fact that it’s only 6:30 in the evening, I feel ready for bed because I spent last night (and the wee hours of this morning) having way too much fun with college friends I hadn’t seen in way too long. All that to say that this will be short, sweet, and unrevised but I wanted to get back on the proverbial blogging horse. So here are my belated Christmas gifts to you, dear reader:

For the writer:

In reading books and blogs on writing, it seems that one cannot get away from advice on grammar, punctuation, adverb use, point of view, etc. etc.  What I couldn’t find to save my life was a good resource on how to revise. I needed help knowing the best ways to revisit a manuscript and work through tough scenes, tighten pace, and know what to cut, so I went a-questing. Actually I just clicked on a promising link in my Twitter feed, but questing makes a better story. Long story long, for some fabulous advice on revising your manuscript, check out Geyser’s 5-step Approach to Revision.

For the young adult reader (or reader of young adult):

I just finished Airborn by Kenneth Oppel and loved it from beginning to end. It’s a steampunk-ish novel that follows Matt Cruse, cabin boy aboard the airship Aurora, through an adventures with storms, lost islands, pirates, mysterious creatures, and hilarious interactions with the spunky Miss de Vries. This was easily one of my favorite books of the year, and I don’t say that lightly. A great book for anyone looking for some fun and adventure.

For everyone:

One of the coolest videos I’ve seen in a long time. Yay random skills.

And finally, for anyone interested in what I do for my full-time job, check out our 2011 Christmas video (coincidentally, also with nutcracker music). It’s all storytelling, just in a different medium. And with way more time spent rotoscoping.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to …and we’re back. With presents.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading …and we’re back. With presents. at R. H. Culp.

meta

