The Balance of Blogging

November 7, 2011 § 3 Comments

Sorry for not only abandoning my blogging schedule in the past two weeks, but for not blogging much at all. I’m still trying to work out how to balance blogging with family, free time, and writing.

For the first month, blogging was awesome and easy. I loved it.  I’ve been writing seriously for almost two years now, and compared to writing narratives with cohesive plots and compelling characters, writing a five hundred word blog post about my passions was easy.  I snuck blogging into my schedule under the guise of writing, thinking “hey this is practice too right?”

But then I slip into the it’s-just-a-blog-so-I-don’t-have-to-take-it-so-seriously mentality and don’t hold myself to a high standard.  As evidence, just count the number of adverbs and exclamation points on the blog (unless you’re an agent, in which case you should just ignore them). The unfortunate truth is that while blogging can help me build a platform to connect with other writers and readers, it won’t finish my manuscript or query agents.

About two weeks ago, I came to the realization that blogging and social media were taking up way to much of my time and focus. So the pendulum swung the other way, and I did almost no blogging. Instead I spent spent a lot of great time with my wife, made great progress on my manuscript, and generally allowed myself to relax, something I haven’t been doing very much of lately. Moving forward I’m going to try and strike a better balance so I don’t burn out, but can still stay consistent. While I intend to stay focused on reading in general (and young adult, fantasy, and science fiction specifically) I’m going to be a little less rigid and reserve the right to occasionally blog about Obi wan Kenobi (though I promise never to blog about my cat, even if I had one).

I’m going to try to blog a couple times a week, but at the moment my writing and family are priorities and sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day. Thanks for reading the blog and for your patience. It’s all a work in progress.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to The Balance of Blogging

  • Yup, blogging should be filed under intermittent chores to be done when there’s something on your mind to dust down or spruce up for the sharing process. It can become a little carnivorous or even cannibalistic if not watched, eating whole sections of your brain, of your life, your family, your recreation time and even your ‘real job’ space. Do not let it take the upper hand. Be firm, reassure it from time to time and occasionally give it a real feast. You’ll both feel better for it. Your writing style is so beautifully fluid and user friendly it’s a pleasure to read.

    I’m sure all your followers, who are probably all bloggers to a ‘man’, will understand your dilemma and will be happy with whatever you’ve got time to share. Enjoy life – blog afterwards and tell us all about it.

  • I have been pondering this dilemma for a full two months before I dared to jump and start my own blog.
    In all honesty, I was held off by the ‘blog daily’ recommendation as it seems to exert tremendous social pressure. As if not being able to say something meaningful every day forfeits one’s right to blog.
    A weekly post seems fine for me now – having skipped only once so far.
    My priority is to have interesting content over frequency. And I refuse to feel bad about it.
    By the way, I think you’re doing just fine.

    • R. H. Culp says:

      I appreciate the vote of confidence Willy. For the first couple weeks it really dominated my life, but now I’m on more of the same track as you, posting only when I have something to say and the time to say it. The truth is, writing needs to be my priority right now, not blogging.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Balance of Blogging at R. H. Culp.

meta

