Google is my Obi-wan Kenobi

November 2, 2011 § 4 Comments

Let’s face it.  If they’d had Google a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, there wouldn’t have been any need for Obi wan Kenobi.  Not only would Luke have learned who his father was at about age eight from Mon Mothma’s blog, he wouldn’t have needed Obi wan Kenobi to teach him to use the force.  There would have been tutorials on YouTube for that.  You wouldn’t even need Bothan spies because the Death Star plans would’ve been wikileaked.

I don’t know what people did before Google.  In the last year, Google has explained to me “Why my wordpress posts aren’t chronological,” “what does ‘li’ mean in html,” “what creates photons,” “word for blotchy skin,” and “words with t and z” (yes I was cheating a little at Words With Friends, but it was a one time thing, I promise), and those are just the search queries that started with the letter “w.”  The immediacy of that information is mind-boggling.  With all that information at my fingertips I feel like I should be changing the world (not just curiously following Google Trends).

Google is the wizened old man and you can keep your Swords of Truth and lightsabers, just give me a smart phone and a good internet connection and with a little luck, evil will be vanquished before dinner (and then Google would help find us a restaurant).  Frodo would have saved himself a lot of pain and heartache (and a finger) if he’d just used Google Maps and left Gollum alone.  Merlin could’ve gone fishing and left Arthur with Google, which doubtlessly has some great advice on ruling a kingdom… right?

Now if you’ll excuse me I’m going to go write a story about a poor farm boy and his first smartphone with an internet connection.  I think the twist is that Google is really the villain. A nice bit of irony for a company with the motto “Don’t be evil.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Google is my Obi-wan Kenobi

  • Joanne Dixon-Jackson says:

    Love this entry! I love Google and don’t know where we’d be without it. Before Google came along, I used to hate search engines as they were utter rubbish at finding anything you wanted. They’d find you a whole heap of irrelevant crap and nothing that you’d actually searched for. Bit like politicians, they did what they wanted and not what you’d asked them to do! Then along came Google! Since then, it has been rare when it hasn’t found what I’ve asked it to look for!

  • Demosthenes says:

    Love the graphic!

    And honestly, I have no idea what the heck we did with ourselves before Google. I would be totally and utterly lost without it.

  • Anne says:

    I have an issue with this blog post. – Your Sister

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Google is my Obi-wan Kenobi at R. H. Culp.

meta

