Book Review: Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

September 16, 2011 § 2 Comments

I also read this book on vacation, in the two days after the two days I spent reading The Warded Man (what can I say, reading is relaxing to me). It follows 75-year-old John Perry as he starts a new life in the army, defending humanity and it’s colonies from hostile aliens, in exchange for a rejuvenation that leaves him in a suped-up 25-year-old version of his body.  Basically the exact opposite premise of Enders Game.

I’ve always been a big fan of Heinlein in general, and Starship Troopers specifically (the book, not the movie), and Old Man’s War takes all the best parts of that and trims the long chapters that feel like lectures (or at least hides them better).  A great read that’s well-written with a fascinating plot and some interesting twists for good measure, I loved it and would recommend it to anyone interested in science fiction.

As an interesting aside, he originally published it as a free serial on his web site, though he doesn’t recommend you try the same.  In an even more interesting aside, Cherie Priest, author of Boneshaker, was discovered the same way.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Book Review: Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

  • reasonableview says:

    I’ve generally been very pleased with everything I’ve read from Scalzi. Old Man’s War was my first, Ghost Brigades second, The Last Colony third, then Agent to the Stars and Fuzzy Nation and finally Android’s Dream most recently. I recommend them all, with my top recommendations being the latest three. The last three are somewhat lighthearted and fun, whereas the first three on the list are more “sciency” sci-fi.

    Let me also recommend listening to one of the last three. Will Wheaton from Star Trek fame is the reader, and he does a terrific job. He reads sarcasm with just the right intonation, and he really brings the characters to life.

    Thanks for the review and reminding me how much I enjoyed Scalzi’s work.

    R.V.

  • R. H. Culp says:

    Thanks for the recommendations. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more of his work.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: Old Man’s War by John Scalzi at R. H. Culp.

meta

