Book Review: The Warded Man by Peter Brett

September 15, 2011 § 1 Comment

I started this in the car on the way to vacation, and my wife didn’t hear a word from me for the next two days. The Warded Man takes place in a world where no one ventures far from their homes during the day for fear of being caught outside when the sun sets. Each night, demons rise and brutally attack anyone not sheltering behind warded walls.  It’s primarily the story of Arden, a farm boy who’s tired of hiding from demons.

It’s not the best written story out there and the title gives away a major plot point that comes late in the book, but it’s Brett’s debut novel so I’ll cut him a healthy amount of slack. I can’t say what pulled me in and wouldn’t let me go, it could have been the unique magic system, or the frightening world, or the slowly mounting tension, but I loved The Warded Man and would recommend it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Book Review: The Warded Man by Peter Brett

  • Since authors do not have sole control over the titles of their books, the giving away of a plot point is probably the work of an editor. Your review interested me enough to order the book from the library. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: The Warded Man by Peter Brett at R. H. Culp.

meta

