Reading, writing, and a mild case of insanity

September 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

This blog in a nutshell…

Reading.

I love to read, and I have for as long as I can remember.  I was always the kid under the sheets with a flashlight after I was supposed to be asleep.  I still love to read anything and everything, and I want this blog to be both a resource for other people who feel the same way, and a place to talk about books, reading, and the ways both are changing.  I’ll be reviewing what I read, posting and commenting on book news, and compiling lists of books I’d recommend to other bibliophiles, whatever their age.

Writing.

On some level I’ve always wanted to write, but it wasn’t until I was a sophomore in college that I started thinking maybe I could.  Since then, I’ve spent a huge percentage of my free time reading, writing, and learning about what makes stories work.  I’ve made a lot of progress, but there’s still more room for improvement than I want to think about.  This blog will be a place where I continue to share the tips and tricks I gather, glean, or learn the hard way.  To start, here’s a list of books I would recommend to anyone thinking about writing.

A mild case of insanity.

Anyone who has ever written something for an audience is familiar with this.  Some days I feel like God’s gift to literature, and others I feel like I would be doing the world a favor if I never wrote another word.  Sometimes it changes in a matter of minutes.  Albert Einstein once said that insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.  This isn’t what he was talking about, but I think Albert would cut me a little slack and call it insanity anyway.  I don’t have any useful insights on this, but I find that it’s nice to be reminded that it’s something every author feels.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Reading, writing, and a mild case of insanity

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading, writing, and a mild case of insanity at R. H. Culp.

meta

